What happens to my computer accounts and data after I leave UCSB?

This might be called deprovisioning, or offboarding.   When you leave UCSB (student, employee, visitor) you might have some computer accounts and information.   Some of these accounts are provisioned and de-provisioned by Bren, others by UCSB.

The following dates generally start at your separation from the University (last employeed day, graduation date)

UCSB Connect Email account / UCSB Gmail / Bren Email account (not alias)

  • Employee - active for 2 weeks, then we reset your password(and you won't be able to use the  account anymore).  after 1 year, we make a request to the Connect Administrators to delete the account.  We recommend that you work with your manager to set an appropriate "vacation" message, will apply for the one year.  You may also choose to use google takeout to get a copy of your email and other Google related items such as your drive documents.
  • Student - active for 13 months after you graduate (as your UCSBnetID is valid for 13 months
  • Visitor - active for 2 weeks, then we reset your password (and you won't be able to use the account anymore).  after 1 year, we make a request to the Connect Administrators to delete the account.  We recommend that you work with your sponsor to set an appropriate "vacation" message, will apply for the one year.  You may also choose to use google takeout to get a copy of your email and other Google related items such as your drive documents.

Bren Desktop Account 

  • Student - active for 2 months after you graduate, then we disable the account, and 1 year later we delete the account and all data.
  • Employee - disabled after you are no longer an employee,  account and data deleted 1 year later.
  • Visitor - disabled after your last day from your sponsor request,  account and data deleted 3 months later.

Box Account - employee: no access after removed from PPS (as the UCSBnetID gets removed) ; Student no access after 13 months of graduation

Google Email/Drive - employee: active for 2 weeks, then we reset the password ; Student no access after 13 months of graduatiion

Employees - Meeting with your supervisor

We recommend that you and your supervisor meet to review what files you might have stored in your personal areas.   Personal areas might include your Bren Desktop Account H Drive,  your Google Drive, your Box account.  It might also be good to review any email contacts that had gone specifically to your email account.  We encourage that Bren business/operational files be stored areas not "owned" by the individual, but we realize this can't always be followed.

Bren Desktop Account H Drive - hopefully most Bren business files were saved in a departmental shared folder, but if not, you can work with your supervisor to either move the files from your H drive to the departmental share or send a note to compute, asking to give access to your supervisor the files in your H Drive.

Box - Any files/folders that you have stored personally, can easily have the ownership changed to your supervisor.   If you don't want to have the ownership changed, you can copy them to a department share on box that your supervisor has access to.

web link on box change ownership

Google Drive - Any files/Folders that you have in your Google drive, you can share with your supervisor and then once they accept the share (or go into it), you can then change the owner of that folder to them.

web link on google drive change ownership 

 

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk